vijay goel
Kabaddi World Cup 2016 logo launch
New Delhi: Union Sports Minister Vijay Goel with J.S Gehlot, President, IKF and others at the unveiling of the official logo of Kabaddi World Cup 2016 in New Delhi on Wednesday. PTI Photo (PTI9_14_2016_000221B)

As India prepares to host the third edition of Kabaddi World Cup in Ahmedabad organised by International Kabaddi Federation, presents the list of matches that will be held at the mega event from October 7. Tournament will take place at the Arena by TranStadia in the capital city of Gujarat.

The tournament will see 12 teams – India, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Kenya, Iran, England, USA, Thailand, Bangladesh and Argentina – battling it out for the world title. Team India, seven times Asian Games winner, are the two time champions and will be looking to defend their title which they last won defeating Iran in 2007. Teams are divided into two pools, where the hosts, South Korea, Australia, England, Bangladesh and Argentina are placed in Pool A where as two times- runners-up Iran have Thailand, Japan, the United States, Poland and Kenya in Pool B. Only team which will not be participating in the tournament is Canada. The tournament will be played in a round robin league format, followed by semi-final and final on Saturday, October 22.

Iran, who is considered to be the title contenders, will not face the defending champions India during the league stage but are likely to play the hosts in the final. India will start the proceedings on October 7, as they play the tournament opener against South Korea.

Read more


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s