vijay goel

Sports Ministry presents cash awards to Indian medal winners at Rio Games


The Sports Ministry on Monday (October 24) gave away cash awards to the medal winners of Rio Olympics and Paralympics. The funds were distributed under the central government scheme of special awards to medal winners in international sports events.

High Jumper Mariyappan Thangavelu and Javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia, who clinched golds at the Paralympics received Rs. 75 lakh each, according to a release. Silver medal-winning para athlete Shot Putter Deepa Malik received Rs.50 lakh as did second placed shuttler at the Olympics PV Sindhu. Disabled athlete High Jumper Varun Singh Bhati, who won bronze, received Rs.30 lakh along with third-placed women’s wrestler at the Olympics Sakshi Malik.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s